Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Science
August 28, 2016
 
 
Canadian Excellence

Research in Kinesiology


Recent Media, Article Features and Events

The department of Kinesiology & Physical Education Faculty have research facilities in the Science Research Building (SR), at the Northdale Campus (NC), and at the King Street Building (232 King).

Current Faculty Research labs include:

Science Research Building:

 Dr. Stephen Perry  SR119   Ext. 3298  sperry@wlu.ca
 Dr. Diane Gregory  SR214/216  Ext. 4564  dgregory@wlu.ca

Northdale Campus (Hickory Street):

 Dr. Quincy Almeida  NC123  Ext.3924/2840  qalmeida@wlu.ca 
 Dr. Pamela Bryden  NC104  Ext 3316  pbryden@wlu.ca
 Dr. Michael Cinelli  NC107   Ext.4775  mcinelli@wlu.ca 
 Dr. Mark Eys  NC120  Ext.3691  meys@wlu.ca
 Dr. Dawn Guthrie  NC118  Ext.3935/3296/3219  dguthrie@wlu.ca
 Dr. Tom Hazell  NC106  Ext.4919  thazell@wlu.ca
 Dr. Jayne Kalmar  NC119  Ext.3334  jkalmar@wlu.ca

King Street Campus (232 King Street):

 Dr. Kim Dawson  KB24  Ext.3798  kdawson@wlu.ca 
 Dr. Paula Fletcher  KB22   Ext.2519  pfletcher@wlu.ca 
 Dr. Renee MacPhee  KB34  Ext.2002  rmacphee@wlu.ca 
 Dr. J. RobertsonWilson  KB24  Ext.3562  jrobertsonwilson@wlu.ca
 Dr. Margie Schneider  KB22  Ext.3794  mschneider@wlu.ca
 Dr. Jill Tracey  KB27  Ext.4191  jtracey@wlu.ca
 


RESEARCH NEWS: 

Dr. Guthrie recently received funding from the Alzheimer Society of Canada for a two-year project to develop and test a new screening tool to identify caregivers who are beginning to show signs of caregiver burden.  She is also part of one of the 20 teams funded through the Canadian Consortium on Neurodegeneration and Aging or CCNA (http://ccna-ccnv.ca/en/).  The CCNA is a $32.9 million project funded primarily by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and includes 300+ researchers from across Canada.

Dr. Mike Cinelli:  "New Methods of Recovery for Concussions"  Cord Article  21OCT2015

Dr. Mike Cinelli and student Laura Fedy - "Laurier Research Team Making Concussions Safer"

Dr. Kim Dawson wrote an Article in the RunningMagazine.ca: "A Rewarding Experience" published Vol.8, Issue 7, November/December 2015.

Dr. Kim Dawson quoted in recent Montreal Gazette article "Fitness:  Train your head to make it to the finish line."

Dr. Kim Dawson - CBC Team Next - Articles "5 Keys to strong mental preparation" and "6 signs you need more mental prep".