Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Lazaridis School of Business & Economics
December 2, 2016
Canadian Excellence

Laurier Outstanding Business Leader Award

The Laurier Outstanding Business Leader Award has been presented annually since 1987 by the School of Business & Economics. Recipients are chosen for their outstanding leadership and management qualities. Award winners are Canadian business leaders who exemplify the qualities and characteristics of leadership and management excellence that the Laurier School of Business & Economics seeks to develop in its students.

Previous Recipients 

2010, Mac Voisin, Founder and Chairman of the Board 
M&M Meat Shops

2009, Peter Gilgan, President and CEO
Mattamy Homes

2008, Jim Balsillie, Co-CEO
Research In Motion Limited

2007, Linda Hasenfratz, Chief Executive Officer
Linamar Corporation

2006, Annette Verschuren, Division President
Home Depot Canada

2005, Christine Magee, President & Co-founder
Sleep Country Canada

2004, Claude Lamoureux, President & CEO
Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan

2003, David A. Brown, QC, Chairman
Ontario Securities Commission

2002, Clive J. Beddoe, Chairman, President & CEO
WestJet Airlines Ltd.

2000-2001, Eric P. Newell, Chairman & CEO
Syncrude Canada Ltd.

1999, Firoz Rasul, Chairman & CEO
Ballard Power Systems Inc.

1998, Kacee Vasudeva, Chairman & CEO
Maxtech Manufacturing Inc., Waterloo

1997, Steven K. Hudson, President & CEO
Newcourt Credit Group, Toronto

1996, Joan Fisk, President
Tiger Brand Knitting Company, Cambridge

1995, Klaus Woerner, President and CEO
ATS Automation Tooling Systems Inc., Cambridge

1994, Larry Zepf, President
Zepf Technologies, Waterloo

1993, Val O’Donovan, Chairman & CEO
COM DEV Limited, Cambridge

1992, James Beingessner, President
B & W Heat Treating Limited, Kitchener

1991, Eileen Mercier, Senior Vice-President & Chief Financial Officer
Abitibi-Price Inc., Toronto

1990, David M. Gee, President
Havlik Technologies Inc., Cambridge

1989, Betty Sims, President
Chicopee Manufacturing Ltd., Kitchener

1988, Patrick J. Forde, Chairman & CEO
Finline Communications Inc., Waterloo

1987, Hugh Sloan, Vice-President of Automotive
Woodbridge Holdings Inc., Troy Michigan

Linamar Corporation