Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Office of Research Services
December 10, 2016
Canadian Excellence

Academic Excellence Awards

Each year, the Tshepo Institute awards the two prizes-Tshepo Institute Nelson Mandela Academic Excellence Award for Social Justice and Development and Tshepo Institute Harriet Tubman Academic Excellence Award for Human Rights and Leadership- in recognition of academic excellence. A committee of Tshepo members will select the two winning candidates.

The two winners will get a prize of $200 each and a certificate of excellence.

Nature of essays: Tshepo invites essays on any topic that addresses contemporary development, human rights, and social justice issues in Africa. Potential topics may include Health and Education; Governance; Human Rights and Leadership; and Economic and Social Development.  Application package should include:

  • Letter of Application,
  • An essay suitable to the specific award,
  • A letter of recommendation from a professor who is able to speak to the candidateís merits in relation to the award. The reference letter should state the award the student is applying for and address the candidateís suitability for the award, such as evidence of a strong academic performance and community involvement or leadership.

Eligibility: This essay competition is open to all undergraduate students enrolled at Wilfrid Laurier University from September 2014 to December 2014. Students must have a minimum GPA of 70% to be eligible for consideration.

Submission Instructions: The studentís name, e-mail address, mailing address, department or program of enrollment should appear on the first page of the essay only, and all other identifiers should be removed. The essay length should not exceed 12 double spaced pages or 3000 words (excluding references and appendices). 

Please include the note TSHEPO Academic Excellence Award in the subject line of your email.
The student should send AN ELECTRONIC COPY of their application materials (in pdf or word format) to: Dr. Oliver Masakure at or Dr. Jeff Grischow at

Deadline: December 20, 2014