Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
August 25, 2016
Canadian Excellence


2000: Wayson Choy

The information below is adapted from the news release issued in 2000

Paper Shadows: A Chinatown Childhood by Wayson Choy is the winner of the 2000 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction.

"The judges enjoyed this compassionate, honest, vivid mystery which really makes the community in which it is set come to life," explained award administrator Kathryn Wardropper. "We really considered it to be an outstanding example of the genre."

Though Paper Shadows (Viking Penguin) was shortlisted for the Vancouver City Book Award, the Staebler Award is Wayson's first national prize.

Other Publications by Wayson Choy: 

  • All That Matters (2004)
  • The Jade Peony (1996)

The shortlist for the 2000 Edna Staebler Award also included:

  • Shadow Child: An Apprenticeship in Love and Loss by Beth Powning (Viking);
  • Always and After: A Memoir by Ellen Stafford (Viking);
  • The Water In Between by Kevin Patterson (Random House Canada);
  • Wardlife: The Apprenticeship of a Young Writer as a Hospital Clerk by Andrew Steinmetz (Vehicule Press).