Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
October 1, 2016
Canadian Excellence


2007: Linden MacIntyre

Journalist and author Linden MacIntyre was awarded the 2007 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for a vibrant memoir about coming-of-age in a small Cape Breton town.

MacIntyre’s book, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence, revolves around the construction in the 1950s of the Canso Causeway, which linked the small Cape Breton community of MacIntyre’s childhood to the bigger world of mainland Nova Scotia. Filled with poignant reflections of a vanishing way of life and the relationships between fathers and sons, Causeway is a narrative of a time and place on the cusp of change.

The judges called the writing “sturdy but lyrical and musical at the same time,” says award administrator Kathryn Wardropper. “Causeway describes a way of life in transition, the spirit of a community, as well as the personal story of a person within.”

MacIntyre is one of Canada’s most distinguished broadcasters. Born in St. Lawrence, Newfoundland, and raised in Port Hastings, Cape Breton, he began his career as a newspaper reporter with the Halifax Chronicle-Herald. He joined CBC Television Halifax in 1976 as a story editor/journalist and soon hosted his own program, The MacIntyre File. He moved to Toronto in 1980 and joined the CBC program the fifth estate, where he is currently a co-host.

For more information on Linden MacIntyre, see the CBC: Fifth Estate website. 

Other Publications by Linden MacIntyre:

  • The Long Stretch (2006)
  • Who Killed Ty Conn (2000) 

The shortlist for the 2007 Edna Staebler Award also included:

  • Poets & Pahlevans: A Journey into the Heart of Iran by Marcello De Cintio;
  • Hannus by Rachel Lebowitz;
  • Interim Essays & Mediations by Patrick Friesen.