Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
September 26, 2016
Canadian Excellence


Guidelines for Submission (2016)

The Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is open to print books and ebooks of creative non-fiction published in the previous calendar year (i.e. books published during the 2015 calendar year are eligible for the 2016 award). To qualify, the writer must be Canadian, and an entry:

  • must be the writer's first or second published book of any type or genre;
  • must have a Canadian locale and/or significance;
  • should be distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing, the writer's personal discovery or experience, and creative use of language or approach to the subject matter.

Previous winners are not eligible, and the judges reserve the right to grant or withhold the award in any year. The decision of the judges is final.

For print books, please send six (6) copies of the published book along with a completed copy of the entry form to:

Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction
Office of the Dean, Faculty of Arts
Wilfrid Laurier University
75 University Avenue West
Waterloo ON N2L 3C5

For ebooks, please email an electronic file in ePub, Kindle or PDF format to, along with a completed copy of the entry form.

If the entry is available in both print and ebook format, please provide six (6) print copies only.

Entries are not returnable and must be received by April 30, 2016. Entries received after this date will not be considered.

The Entry Form may be filled out electronically using a PDF reader (Acrobat Reader is available free if you do not already have it).