Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
September 29, 2016
Canadian Excellence


About the Award

The Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is a unique award—the only one offered in Canada for the genre. Established in 1991 by writer and literary journalist Edna Staebler, it recognizes a Canadian writer of a first or second published book with a Canadian locale and/or significance.

About Creative Non-Fiction

Creative non-fiction is literary not journalistic. The writer does not merely give information but intimately shares an experience with the reader by telling a factual story using the devices of fiction, including:

  • original research;
  • well-crafted interpretive writing;
  • personal discovery or experience;
  • the creative use of language or approach to the subject matter;
  • dialogue; and
  • a narrative about people who come alive.

Rather than emphasizing objectivity, the book should have feeling, and should be a compelling, engaging read. 

From the earliest days, Canadian non-fiction writers have been recording their experiences in imaginative ways. The genre has firm roots in the work of Susannah Moody, Farley Mowat, Pierre Berton, Marion Fowler, Harold Horwood, and Edna Staebler herself.

The 2016 Award

The Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is awarded annually and valued at $10,000. Deadline for receipt of entries is April 30, 2016. Both print and ebooks are eligible. The shortlist and winner will be announced in the summer.