Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing
October 26, 2016
Canadian Excellence

Project Governance

All members of the Laurier community have a stake in the success of the website renewal project. To incorporate these diverse interests, ongoing guidance has been drawn from the Web Steering Committee, formed with representation from user groups across the university. Current membership includes:

  • Kevin Crowley – Director: Communications and Public Affairs, CPAM
  • Dan Dawson – Assistant Vice-President: Student Services
  • Tracey Ens – Manager: Procurement Services
  • Necia Martins – Manager, Service Laurier
  • Nela Petkovic – CIO: ICT Project Management
  • Joel Peters – Assistant Vice-President: External Relations
  • Andrew Robinson – Associate Professor; Program Coordinator for Human Rights and Human Diversity, and Law and Society
  • Melissa Stephens – Manager: Marketing and Communications, Recruitment and Admissions
  • Julia Thomson – Communications Manager: Development and Alumni Relations
  • Wayne Steffler – Assistant Vice-President: Administration
  • Beth Gurney – Associate Director: Communications and Public Affairs, Brantford Campus 

Three web advisory groups have been assembled for phase two of the renewal project, one drawn from faculty, a second form support/academic teams, and a third from units with an internal mandate — allowing for a stronger understanding of student, staff and faculty processes and cycles alongside business needs.

Membership for the support/academic advisory group includes:

  • Leanne Holland Brown – Dean of Students, Waterloo Campus
  • Necia Martins – Manager, Service Laurier
  • Phil Champagne – Executive Director and COO, Students' Union 
  • Ian Muller – President and CEO, GSA 
  • Drew Piticco – Manager, Student Leadership and Conflict 
  • Clayton McCourt – Associate Director, Residence Life (multi-campus role)
  • Bailey Gross – Coordinator, Centre for Student Life and Engagement
  • Gail Forsyth – Director, Centre for Student Success
  • Helen Paret – Manager, Graduate Administration
  • Nancy Helmond – Scholarship Officer 
  • Monica Duyvestyn – Financial Aid Administrator 
  • Dan Phillips – Student Advisor and Admissions Coordinator, Waterloo Lutheran Seminary
  • Anne Stuart – Co-op Coordinator
  • Katherine St. Louis – Manager, Career Resources and Operations
  • Melissa Ireland – Aboriginal Student Support Coordinator
  • Dillon Moore – Head, Digital Initiatives, Library
  • Melanie More-Duckworth – Manager, ICT Service Desk and IT Support
  • Mike Zybala – Manager, Academic Materials
  • Adam Lawrence – Dean of Students, Brantford Campus
  • Jennifer Brickman – Assistant Registrar: Student Records and Services 
  • Sarah Neziol – Manager, Academic Advising
  • Melissa Stephens – Manager: Marketing and Communications, Recruitment and Admissions

Membership for the faculty advisory group includes:

  • Abby Goodrum, Faculty of Liberal Arts
  • Andrew Robinson, Faculty of Liberal Arts
  • Ken Paradis, Faculty of Liberal Arts
  • Jaclyn Stief, School of Business and Economics
  • Logan McLeod, School of Business and Economics
  • Isaac Santi, School of Business and Economics 
  • Eleanor Ty, Faculty of Arts
  • Kenneth Maly, Faculty of Science
  • Laurie Minor, Faculty of Education
  • Mieke Barette, Faculty of Music

Membership for the intranet advisory group includes: 

  • Krista Boertien - Director- Total Rewards
  • Lori Chalmers Morrison - Associate Director: Communications and Public Affairs, CPAM
  • Kevin Crowley - Director: Communications and Public Affairs, CPAM
  • John Fraser - Director: Strategic Academic Initiatives
  • Ladan Heit - SMS Project Leader, ICT
  • Kenneth Maly, Faculty of Science
  • Joanne Roberts - HR Consultant
  • Shereen Rowe - General Counsel
  • Fred Verboom - Acting Director, ICT Enterprise Systems
  • Melanie Will - Manager: Learning and Organizational Development

At an operational level, responsibility for Laurier’s web properties is a shared responsibility between Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) and Communications, Public Affairs and Marketing (CPAM). The resulting web team oversees day-to-day project and enhancement tasks related to Laurier’s web presence. Leadership for the web team includes:

  • Andres Diaz, Senior Manager: ICT Project Management Office
  • Helen Exley, Associate Director: Marketing and Creative Services, CPAM
  • Mirela Askraba, Program Manager: ICT
  • Kristine Lougas, Web Manager: CPAM