Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Science
December 8, 2016
Canadian Excellence

Dr. Paul Jessop, Dean of Science

Greetings from the Dean

Welcome to Laurierís Faculty of Science.  We are a dynamic Faculty that has grown rapidly in recent years to a current size of over 3600 full-time undergraduate and graduate students and 113 full-time faculty members.  We offer a full range of academic programs across six academic departments and are home to several leading edge research centres. 

Many of our undergraduate programs take an interdisciplinary approach with an emphasis on the applications of science that address some of societyís most pressing issues and leave our graduates well positioned to begin very productive careers.  For example, in 2009-10 we introduced a new Honours B.Sc. program in Health Sciences, which is proving to be very popular with students who are interested in pursuing postgraduate opportunities in health-related fields.  We offer double degree programs that combine two Science disciplines as well as double degree programs offered in combination with the Laurierís School of Business and Economics.  The Department of Mathematics offers an honours degree program in Financial Mathematics that can be taken in combination with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree.

Science faculty members are engaged in high quality research, the advancement of scientific knowledge and the application of that knowledge to real world problems.  They bring their expertise and enthusiasm for research into the classroom.  Many undergraduate students find opportunities to enrich their learning through involvement in Laurier research projects or through co-op work experience.

The Science Faculty is committed to offering high quality programs in the pure and applied sciences.  We share with the rest of the University a commitment to offering students a supportive environment and an enriching experience that prepares them for future success.  

Paul Jessop, Ph.D.
Dean, Faculty of Science
Professor, Department of Physics & Computer Science