Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Arts
May 25, 2017
Canadian Excellence

Headlines (Campus Updates)

Faculty of Arts

Laurier reception to celebrate teaching innovation and excellence

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Jan 6/14

Wilfrid Laurier Universityís Associate Vice-President: Teaching and Learning, Pat Rogers, along with the Office of Teaching Support Services, is honouring the recipients of the 2013 Teaching Awards and others who have made significant contributions to the educational experience of Laurier students.

The university will host a celebration Monday, Jan. 13, 2014 in the Senate & Board Chamber on Laurierís Waterloo campus. A reception with formal remarks will begin at 5:30 p.m. following the conclusion of Senate, and is open to all members of the Laurier community.

This yearís recipients include:

Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence (full-time)
Rob Milne, Geography and Environmental Studies

Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence (part-time)
Duane Heide, Education

TA Award of Excellence (graduate)
Colin McLaren, Kinesiology & Physical Education

TA Award of Excellence (undergraduate)
Susan Shaw, Mathematics

Faculty of Arts Teaching Scholar Award
Sara Matthews, Global Studies

Laurier Alumni Hoffmann-Little Award
Kevin Swinden, Music

Laurier Alumni Faculty Mentoring Award
Quincy Almeida, Kinesiology & Physical Education

Laurier Residence Academic Partnership Award (Spring)
Laura Allan, Business & Economics

Laurier Residence Academic Partnership Award (Fall)
Jane Newland, Languages and Literatures

Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance (OUSA) Award for Teaching Excellence
Jason Roy, Political Science

Laurier Teaching Fellow
Stephen MacNeil, Chemistry

Laurier Teaching Fellow
Mercedes Rowinsky-Geurts, Languages and Literatures

For more information about this event, or to RSVP, please contact Tara Herriot at or 519.884.0710 x3507.


View all Faculty of Arts news
View all Laurier news