Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Lazaridis School of Business & Economics
December 8, 2016
Canadian Excellence


Headlines (Campus Updates)

Lazaridis School of Business & Economics

Laurier celebrates winners of 5th Annual MBA Alumni Awards

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Nov 23/11

Laurier faculty, staff, students and alumni gathered Nov. 22 at the Toronto Board of Trade to celebrate the 5th Annual Laurier MBA Alumni Awards, which honoured six recipients for their leadership, innovation and achievements.

“Our graduates are outstanding individuals who truly are leading lives of leadership and purpose,” said Williams Banks, acting dean of Laurier’s School of Business & Economics.  “As Laurier’s MBA program celebrates its 35th anniversary, I’m pleased we are able to honour our former students, while at the same time inspire our next generation of leaders.”

The 2011 award winners are:

Outstanding Executive Leadership Award: Rena Crumplen (MBA ’04)
Rena Crumplen joined Mars Canada Inc. in 2005 as general manager after more than 20 years working in the food business with Labatt Breweries, Parmalat Dairies and the Coca-Cola Company.

Outstanding Innovation & Achievement Award: Ray DePaul (MBA ’94)
Ray DePaul has years of experience in entrepreneurial ventures, from joining the first wave of Waterloo technology start-ups in the 1980s, to being part of Sustainable Waterloo and the MaRS Discovery District to name two.

WLUAA Alumni Award of Distinction: Ian GlynWilliams (MBA ’03)
Ian GlynWilliams is the chief capital planner for the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services, where he has been a major contributor in securing planning approvals, funding and financing for many large social infrastructure projects (for example, the Toronto South Detention Centre Forensic Services).

Community Leadership Award: Leanne Ferris (MBA ’08)
Leanne Ferris is the executive director for Medical Ministry Canada Inc. For over 20 years, she has served the world’s poorest individuals by providing physical and spiritual healing to an often-forgotten world.

MBA Alumna of the Year Award: Olga Pawluczyk (MBA '07)
Olga Pawluczyk is the president and CEO of P&P Optica, which develops the most sensitive non-scanning optical spectrometer available on the market today. She is the key innovator behind this technology.

Outstanding CMA/MBA Alumna Award: Helen Harper (MBA ’10)
Helen Harper is a recycling superintendent at Xstrata Copper Canada. She is responsible for sourcing copper and precious metal-bearing consumer and industrial wasters for recycling.

The Laurier MBA Alumni Awards were established in 2007 to recognize truly outstanding women and men who have provided an inspirational impact to students and/or the community, and for their significant contributions to career achievement and community service. A call for nominations was sent out at the end of the summer.

The Wilfrid Laurier University Alumni Association and Certified Management Accountants of Ontario sponsored this year’s event.


View all Lazaridis School of Business & Economics news
View all Laurier news