Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
October 21, 2016
Canadian Excellence

News & Events

Contact Us:

email: WLU
(519) 884-1970


Headlines (Campus Updates)


Laurier celebrates recipients and donors of distinguished awards

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Mar 6/13

Wilfrid Laurier University celebrated its annual Awards of Distinction with an exciting event at the CIGI Campus March 5, 2013. More than 200 donors, recipients and guests attended the event, and 90 students were honoured with the prestigious awards.

“These scholarships and awards provide tremendous financial support and encouragement to both undergraduate and graduate students,” said Rob Donelson, Laurier’s vice-president of development and alumni relations. “Laurier is privileged to be championed by a community of exceptional donors.”

The event provided an opportunity for donors to meet their award recipients and to learn more about the impact of their giving. Donors of the awards range from alumni who wish to honour a friend, colleague or family member, to corporations seeking to support Canadian expertise in global finance.

The 2013 Awards of Distinction recipients are:

Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) Junior Fellowships

  • Maissaa Almustafa
  • Alexandre Catta 
  • Michael Cockburn 
  • Meredith Giel 
  • William Grass 
  • Monique McCallum 
  • Laurel Reid 
  • Nabeel Sheiban 
  • Simone Stawicki 
  • Kathryn Teeluck 
  • Lauren Webber 
  • Keegan Williams 
  • Hyla Zeifman

Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario (ICAO) PhD in Management (Accounting Field) Scholarship

  • Abiodun Isiaka
  • Yan Jin 
  • Justin Mindzak

Manulife Financial Scholars of Distinction

  • Jonathan Lodewyks
  • Shawn Lucas 
  • Dan Li Meng

Martin Business Administration Award of Distinction

  • Carly Hicks

Merriam School of Music Award of Distinction

  • Edward Cho

Moly Corp Awards of Distinction

ACADEMIC EXCHANGE SCHOLARSHIPS for students studying on exchange in China

  • Richard Chong
  • Chungsoon Haw

ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS for students from China who are studying at Laurier

  • Jianan Mo
  • Mingji Shen

CO-OP SCHOLARSHIPS for Laurier students undertaking a co-op work term in China

  • Yang Gao

Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance Company of Canada Award of Distinction

  • Aaron Langille

Scotiabank International Entrance Scholarship

  • Yuqi Deng
  • Farah Hala Omran 
  • Siyun Wang 
  • Xue Min Wu Zhang

Sun Life Financial "Bright Future" Award

  • Alexander Gibson
  • Benjamin Skinner

Sybase iAnywhere Scholarship

  • Gabriel Platt

TD Insurance Meloche Monnex Graduate Scholarship

  • Amira Ragab

Garfield Weston Scholars Program

  • Sarah Buisman
  • Joshua Clayton 
  • Istvan Kery 
  • Demilade Samuel Oba

Dr. John Weir Economics Award of Distinction

  • Ahmad Faheem

Wilfrid Laurier University Graduate Students' Association Award of Distinction

  • Kari Kokko
  • Daniel Towers

Balsillie PhD Fellowships

  • Aria Ahmad
  • Farkhod Aminjonov 
  • Carla Angulo-Pasel 
  • Frances Barclay Fortune 
  • Warren Clarke 
  • Taguhi Dallakyan 
  • Daniel Herman 
  • Rhys Machold
  • Pauline Maillet 
  • Anton Malkin 
  • Branka un Marijan 
  • Laura Reidel 
  • Veronica Rubio Vega 
  • Ola Tjornbo 
  • Jennifer Vibert 
  • Jessica West

BMO Financial Group Graduate Scholarship Fund

  • Robyn Bertram
  • Deborah Birkett 
  • Natalia Lisus 
  • Sonia Sengsavang 
  • Hossein Zolfagharinia

Marjorie H. Brown Scholarship in Chemistry

  • Alina Reid

Marjorie H. Brown Scholarship in French

  • Alison Goulden

Christine Chamberlain Centennial Scholarship

  • Victoria Melik

CIBC Leaders in Entrepreneurship Award

  • Sean Cameron
  • Trevor Goorts

Manfred and Penny Conrad Graduate Award of Distinction

  • Sarah Pearson

Ross and Doris Dixon Ontario Graduate Scholarship

  • Emily Rutledge

Walter and Jean Hachborn Award of Distinction

  • Sukhjot Singh Girgla

Beth Kidnie Memorial Award for Excellence in Student Leadership

  • Laura Curk

Beth Kidnie Memorial Leadership Award

  • Rachel-Brianna Latimer

William Nikolaus Martin Science Scholarship

  • Nimer Murshid
  • Dara Schaefer

Ken Murray Concerto Competition Award of Distinction

  • Edward Cho

Robert G. Rosehart Community Award

  • Michael Taglione

Robert and Jean Sutherland Award

  • Priya Parmar
  • Cameron Streicher

Vasha Award

  • Jordan Burrows
  • Zoë Hupman

Venu Venugopal Award of Excellence

  • Blair Sherman

Meta Voss Music Award

  • Kaleb Koslowski
  • Emma Mansell

John and Ann Weir Masters in Economics Scholarship

  • Nicholas Corvari
  • Sundip Dhanjal 
  • Sivakanthan Karunakanthan 
  • Susanne Luong

Katherine Wong Mulholland Award

  • Stephanie Chang

Chris Woodward Brand Marketing Award

  • Nirojan Thurairajah


View all WLU news
View all Laurier news