Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Arts
June 27, 2017
Canadian Excellence

Headlines (News Releases)

Faculty of Arts

Call for entries: 2014 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Feb 25/14| For Immediate Release


Cathy Mahler, Administrative Assistant
Office of the Dean of Arts
519-884-0710 ext. 3361 or


Kevin Crowley, Acting Assistant Vice-President
Communications, Public Affairs and Marketing
519-884-0710 ext. 3070 or

WATERLOO – Wilfrid Laurier University is seeking submissions for the 2014 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, a $10,000 literary award that recognizes excellence in Canadian creative non-fiction.

Designed to encourage new Canadian talent, the award is open to authors who have published a first or second book with a Canadian locale and/or significance. The 2014 award is open to works published in the 2013 calendar year and distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing and a creative use of language or approach to the subject matter.

Entries must be received by Tuesday, April 1, 2014 to be considered. To obtain an entry form and a complete list of submission guidelines, please visit

The shortlist and winner will be announced in the summer. The author will be presented with the award and make appearances at Laurier’s Waterloo and Brantford campuses in the fall.

Carol Shaben won the 2013 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for Into the Abyss: How a Deadly Plane Crash Changed the Lives of a Pilot, a Politician, a Criminal and a Cop (Random House Canada, 2012). In Into the Abyss, Shaben reconstructs a 1984 commuter plane crash in northern Alberta that killed six passengers and wounded four others—including Shaben’s father, a prominent cabinet minister.

Other winners of the Edna Staebler Award include authors Linden MacIntyre, Wayson Choy and Elizabeth Hay.

About the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction
Established and endowed by writer and award-winning journalist Edna Staebler, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is administered by Wilfrid Laurier University, the only university in Canada to bestow a nationally recognized literary award. The $10,000 award encourages and recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale and/or significance. The award was established in 1991.


View all Faculty of Arts news
View all Laurier news