Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Lazaridis School of Business & Economics
October 27, 2016
Canadian Excellence


Lazaridis School of Business & Economics

Record number of Laurier undergrads qualify for national business competition finals

Nov 29/07


Kim Takeuchi - Marketing and Communication, Laurier School of Business & Economics, (519) 884-0710, ext.3145

WATERLOO — Business students from Wilfrid Laurier University have qualified for seven out of eight categories in the 2007 Inter-Collegiate Business Competition (ICBC) and will move to the final round in January.

ICBC is the largest and most prestigious Canadian case competition of its kind, with events in eight major business areas: accounting, debating, finance, labour arbitration, marketing, business policy, ethics and management of information systems (MIS). In its 30th year, this event attracts teams from more than 30 of the top business schools in North America and Asia.  

“We are extremely excited over this news,” said Laurier’s dean of business and economics, Ginny Dybenko. “The success at this event truly reflects the caliber of talent we see here, both in the student body and in the faculty members that guide them. Laurier is evolving in very smart ways – innovative programs designed to meet changing student and market needs, stronger external partnerships, a dedicated focus on integrity and ethics and a highly collegial learning environment means we produce the best of the best.”

In preparation for the ICBC, the Laurier teams worked on a one-month case report in the hopes of securing one of six spots in the final round for each category.  It was recently announced that Laurier has qualified for the finals in seven of the eight categories.  As one of the top six schools overall, Laurier also qualifies for the debating competition and will be represented by Jordan Schmidt and David Bornstein. Laurier's other teams consist of Megan Green and Matthew Hudson (labour arbitration); Martin Melady and Anthony Milito (ethics); Shannon McLaughlin and Anne Zhang (accounting); Gregory Dean and David Gourlay (finance); Stewart McKendry and Gregory Overholt (MIS); and Christopher DePaul and Michael Morrice (marketing).

“This is a major accomplishment for our students. They have been focused on applying lessons learned in class, from each other and in their co-op terms in real business environments and it has paid off.  We’re very proud of them,” said Alan Marshall, Laurier coordinator of undergraduate student affairs and finance lecturer.

The final round will be held at Queen’s University in Kingston, January 10-13, 2008.


View all Lazaridis School of Business & Economics news
View all Laurier news