Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing
December 2, 2016
Canadian Excellence


Headlines (News Releases)

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Laurier History professor earns prestigious Fulbright award

Jun 25/12| For Immediate Release


David Monod, Professor, Department of History
Wilfrid Laurier University
519-884-1970 ext. 3261 or


Kevin Crowley, Director, Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing
Wilfrid Laurier University
519-884-0710 ext. 3070 or

WATERLOO – The Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program has recognized Laurier History Professor David Monod with a prestigious Fulbright Visiting Research Chair award.

"The Fulbright Visiting Research Chairs are internationally competitive awards,” said Deborah MacLatchy, Laurier’s vice-president: Academic & Provost. “It is a testament to Dr. Monod's scholarship, and the quality of the work of Laurier faculty, that he was able to achieve such an honour."

Monod will serve as the 2011-2012 Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in the History department at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. During his four-month term – beginning in January 2013 – Monod will teach a course on “The rise of mass entertainment in America.” He will also work on a new research project focusing on the connections between high and low cultures as they relate to entertainment in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

“This is an important opportunity to connect with staff, students and faculty in the Vanderbilt community, as well as to pursue my research,” says Monod. “I’m pleased and honoured to have been selected for this award, and I look forward to building a relationship between Laurier and Vanderbilt.”

The Fulbright Program facilitates bilateral academic exchanges between the United States and over 150 countries where outstanding professionals, scholars and students examine subjects critical to strengthening the relationship between the two countries.

Laurier professors who have previously received the Fulbright Visiting Research Chair award include: Business Professor Michael Haughton (2008-2009), Economics Professor David Johnson (2007-2008), English Professor Tamas Dobozy (2006-2007), and Associate Professor of Political Science Debora VanNijnatten (2004-2005).

The Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program operates with the support of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada and the United States Department of State.


View all Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing news
View all Laurier news