Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
September 23, 2017
Canadian Excellence



Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Come meet the winner of the 2015 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Nov 3/15

Lynn Thomson, winner of the 2015 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, will be honoured this week with events and receptions on Laurierís Waterloo campus Thursday, Nov. 5 and on the Brantford campus Friday, Nov. 6.

Thomson won this yearís Edna Staebler Award for Birding with Yeats: A Memoir (House of Anansi Press).

An award presentation will take place Nov. 5 at 3 p.m. in the Library on Laurierís Waterloo Campus, followed by a dinner at 5:30 p.m. A reception will also be held on Laurierís Brantford campus on Nov. 6 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. in Room 100 of the Carnegie Building.

Thomson will also be recognized at the Wild Writers Literary Festival, an annual event presented by The New Quarterly journal. In honour of Edna Staeblerís contributions to support emerging writers, Thomson will be introduced as a guest of honour at the Wild Writers opening event on Friday, Nov. 6 at 7:30 p.m. at the CIGI Campus in Waterloo.

Birding With Yeats recounts Thomsonís efforts to support her son, Yeats, a solitary young man who has trouble finding his way in the world. She gamely embraces his passion for bird-watching, which leads them across the country and as far the Galapagos Islands, which she describes in evocative detail. Along the way, Thomson rediscovers the solace that can be found in the natural world. As much about the bond between a mother and a son as it is about bird-watching, Birding With Yeats is an elegantly written, engaging memoir.

"Birding With Yeats is an exquisitely written first book," said Bruce Gillespie, an award juror and professor in the Digital Media and Journalism program at Laurierís Brantford campus. ďThomsonís writing makes you want to read the book as slowly as possible, so as to appreciate fully each finely crafted sentence and keen-eyed detail."

In addition to Birding with Yeats: A Memoir, the shortlist for the 2015 Edna Staebler Award also included: Writing with Grace: A Journey Beyond Down Syndrome by Judy McFarlane (Douglas & McIntyre) and Forgiveness: A Gift from My Grandparents by Mark Sakamoto (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.).

About the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Established and endowed by writer and award-winning journalist Edna Staebler in 1991, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is administered by Wilfrid Laurier University, the only university in Canada to bestow a nationally recognized literary award. The $10,000 award encourages and recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale and/or significance.

View all Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction news
View all Laurier news