Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
January 22, 2017
Canadian Excellence

Headlines (Campus Updates)

Future Students - International

Laurier women named among Canada’s Most Powerful Women for 2013

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Dec 12/13

Three women with ties to Laurier were honoured on the 2013 list of Canada’s Most Powerful Women. Alumna Leanne Hall, honorary degree recipient Heather Reisman and Board of Governors member Sue Reibel were among 100 women recognized for their leadership and contributions.

The awards, initiated by the Women's Executive Network, recognize women who are "proven achievers and strong contributors to their organization, their fields of endeavour and their communities."

Laurier recipients are listed below:

  • Leanne Hall (BA '95 psychology), Glencore Trailblazers & Trendsetters Award
    As vice-president of human resources at Noront Resources Ltd, Hall is at the forefront of a new approach to mining in Canada. Through close partnerships with Aboriginal communities and investment in social initiatives, Hall demonstrates leadership in this diverse and high-tech industry.

  • Heather Reisman (honorary degree 2009), CIBC Entrepreneurs Award
    In 1996, Reisman founded Indigo Books & Music Inc. and built it into Canada’s largest book retailer. Today, as CEO at Indigo, Reisman has established herself as a top entrepreneur. She and her husband Gerald Schwartz are also leading philanthropists in Canada, supporting numerous causes from health care to education.

  • Sue Reibel (Laurier Board of Governors member), Scotiabank Corporate Executives Award
    In her role as senior vice-president for business development, group benefits and retirement solutions at Manulife Financial, Reibel has taken Manulife's group retirement business to the No. 1 sales position in Canada. She is also a leader on retirement savings policy in Canada. Reibel sits on Laurier’s Board of Governors and Investment Oversight Committee and also chairs the university's pension committee.

Hall, Reisman and Reibel exemplify the qualities of leadership, purpose and commitment to their communities that are at the core of Laurier’s identity. These women are inspiring role models for Laurier students.

Past winners of the Canada’s Most Powerful Women honour include Laurier’s Vice-President Academic and Provost Deborah MacLatchy; Laurier alumna Heather Munroe-Blum, former principal and vice-chancellor of McGill University; and Ginny Dybenko, former dean of the Laurier School of Business & Economics.

For a complete list of recipients, see

View all Future Students - International news
View all Laurier news