Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
December 7, 2016
Canadian Excellence

News & Events

Contact Us:

email: WLU
(519) 884-1970

Headlines (News Releases)


Call for entries: 2012 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Jan 12/12| For Immediate Release


Kevin Crowley, Director, Communications & Public Affairs
Wilfrid Laurier University
519-884-0710 ext. 3070 or

WATERLOO – Entries are being sought for the 2012 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, a $10,000 literary award that recognizes excellence in Canadian creative non-fiction. The award is administered by Wilfrid Laurier University.

Designed to encourage new Canadian talent, the award is open to authors who have published a first or second book with a Canadian locale and/or significance. The 2012 award is open to works published in the 2011 calendar year and distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing and a creative use of language or approach to the subject matter.

Entries must be received by Monday, April 30, 2012 to be considered. To obtain an entry form and a complete list of submission guidelines, please visit

The winner will be announced in September, 2012. The author will be presented with the award and make appearances in Waterloo and Brantford in November, 2012.

Helen Waldstein Wilkes won the 2011 Edna Staebler Award for Letters from the Lost: A Memoir of Discovery. The memoir weaves letters, imaginary conversations and one woman’s search for answers into a compelling narrative of what it means to be a Jew, a survivor and a family member without a family. At age 60, Waldstein Wilkes opens a small box that was left by her father in their southern Ontario home. The box holds “letters from the lost” – letters from family members left behind in Nazi-occupied Czechoslovakia. Waldstein Wilkes follows the letters’ trail back to Europe to discover that “the lost” – homeland, past and family – are part of her self.

Other winners of the Edna Staebler Award include authors Linden MacIntyre, Wayson Choy and Elizabeth Hay.

Established and endowed by writer and literary journalist Edna Staebler, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction has been administered by Wilfrid Laurier University since 1991. Laurier is the only university in Canada to bestow a nationally recognized literary award. Staebler, who died in 2006, was an award-winning journalist and a member of the Order of Canada.


View all WLU news
View all Laurier news