Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
October 18, 2017
Canadian Excellence

News & Events

Contact Us:

email: WLU
(519) 884-1970

Headlines (News Releases)


Call for entries: 2013 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Communications, Public Affairs & Marketing

Feb 13/13| For Immediate Release


Ute Lischke, Professor
Department of English and Film Studies
519-884-0710 ext. 3607 or


Kevin Crowley, Director, Communications & Public Affairs
Wilfrid Laurier University
519-884-0710 ext. 3070 or

WATERLOO Wilfrid Laurier University is seeking submissions for the 2013 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, a $10,000 literary award that recognizes excellence in Canadian creative non-fiction.

Designed to encourage new Canadian talent, the award is open to authors who have published a first or second book with a Canadian locale and/or significance. The 2013 award is open to works published in the 2012 calendar year and distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing and a creative use of language or approach to the subject matter.

Entries must be received by Tuesday, April 30, 2013 to be considered. To obtain an entry form and a complete list of submission guidelines, please visit

The shortlist and winner will be announced in the summer. The author will be presented with the award and make appearances in Waterloo and Brantford in the fall.

Joshua Knelman won the 2012 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for Hot Art: Chasing Thieves and Detectives through the Secret World of Stolen Art (Douglas & McIntyre, 2011). In Hot Art, Knelman takes what seems like a rarefied topic art theft and produces an engrossing narrative that is as riveting as any best-selling mystery novel.

Other winners of the Edna Staebler Award include authors Linden MacIntyre, Wayson Choy and Elizabeth Hay.

About the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction
Established and endowed by writer and award-winning journalist Edna Staebler, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is administered by Wilfrid Laurier University, the only university in Canada to bestow a nationally recognized literary award. The $10,000 award encourages and recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale and/or significance. The award was established in 1991.


View all WLU news
View all Laurier news