Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
October 20, 2017
Canadian Excellence
Dr. Deb MacLatchy

Dr. Deborah MacLatchy

Provost & Vice-President: Academic

Contact Information

Office Location: R241A 202 Regina Street

Languages Spoken



Dr. Deborah MacLatchy (BScH Acadia University '85; PhD, University of Manitoba '91) is the Provost & Vice-President: Academic and a Professor of Biology at Wilfrid Laurier University, in Waterloo, Ontario.

A founding Fellow of the Canadian Rivers Institute and a founding member of the Laurier Institute for Water Sciences and the Laurier Centre for Women in Science, she was previously Dean of Science at Laurier (2007-2009) and Dean of Science, Applied Science and Engineering at the University of New Brunswick in Saint John (2004-2007). From 2001-2003, she was Director of the International Office at UNB Saint John and in 2003-2004 Acting Director of UNB's Saint John College.

An ecotoxicologist and comparative endocrinologist, she is funded by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and industry, and federal, provincial and territorial infrastructure platform grants. She has published over 70 peer-reviewed publications in her field. She is a 2005 recipient, with Irving Pulp and Paper Ltd. and Environment Canada, of a NSERC Synergy award for partnerships for her collaborative work on the issue of endocrine disruption in aquatic environments caused by industrial contaminants.

She is a past President and Council Member of the Canadian Society of Zoologists and is currently Chair of the Science Directors of the Canadian Rivers Institute. She is a past member of the Committee on Research Partnerships at NSERC and of the City of Waterloo Citizens Environmental Advisory Committee. Current leadership efforts are as a member of the executive of the Ontario Council of Academic Vice-Presidents and through participation on several working groups of the Council of Ontario Universities. She is an active member of the Platform Management Committee of the Southern Ontario Water Consortium and co-leader of the consortium's Ecotoxicology Node.