Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
February 22, 2017
Canadian Excellence

Linda Catlin Smith

Contract Academic Staff; Composition

Contact Information
Phone: ext.2286

Office Location: A207

Personal Website:
Academic Background
BMus, MMus (University of Victoria): Composition

Linda Catlin Smith began her studies in composition in high school, with the American composer Allen Shawn.  She continued her studies at SUNY/Stony Brook, and received her B.Mus. and M.Mus. from the University of Victoria, B.C., where she studied with Rudolf Komorous, Jo Kondo, Martin Bartlett, Michael Longton and John Celona.

Her works have been performed by many ensembles and soloists, including: Arraymusic, Vancouver New Music, SMCQ, Eve Egoyan, Anthony de Mare, Colin Tilney, Tafelmusik, Pacific Baroque Orchestra, Penderecki Quartet, the Bozzini Quartet, the Duke Trio, the Banff Centre for the Arts and CBC Radio Orchestra, as well as by ensembles and soloists abroad and in the US.

Her work has been supported by the Canada Council, Ontario Arts Council and Toronto Arts Council,; she was the recipient of the Hunter Emerging Artist Award in 1997, and received a Chalmers Arts Fellowship Award in 2003.

Her works are recorded by: Arraymusic, Eve Egoyan, Barbara Pritchard, Les Coucous Bénévoles, and the Penderecki Quartet, most of these available on the Artifact Music label, which also released  her solo cd, Memory Forms.  Her lecture "Composing Identity: What is a Woman Composer?" is published in Musicworks (#80).

Linda has been a guest lecturer at: McGill University, York University, University of Victoria, Trinity College and the Royal Academy (London), Open Ears Festival, Vancouver New Music Festival and others.

She was Artistic Director of Arraymusic in Toronto (1988 - 1993), where she also directed the annual Young Composers’ Workshop from 1987 – 1997.  Her opera Facing South was premiered with Tapestry New Opera as part of the World Stage Festival in Toronto, and her work Garland for Tafelmusik received the prestigious 2005 Jules Léger Prize.