Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
October 22, 2017
Canadian Excellence
Geoffrey Stevens

Prof. Geoffrey Stevens

Contract Academic Staff

Contact Information
Email: |
Phone: Home: 519-621-4822 Work: 519-884-0710 ext.2946
Other Phone: Cell: 519-241-8897
Fax: 519-621-3990

Office Hours: (by appointment)
Academic Background

 B.A. (English and History), University of Western Ontario


Geoffrey Stevens is a journalist, author and teacher. He spent 15 years in the Parliamentary Press Gallery in Ottawa. He has been the Queen’s Park bureau chief, Ottawa columnist, national editor, sports editor and managing editor of the Globe and Mail, Ottawa correspondent for Time magazine, and managing editor of Maclean's magazine, as well as publisher and editor of the Sun Times of Canada, a Tampa, FL-based newspaper for Canadian snowbirds. Before coming to Laurier in 2004, Prof. Stevens taught a "Politics and the Media" seminar course for fourth-year and graduate students at the University of Toronto. At Laurier, he teaches “Corruption, Scandal and Political Ethics” (PO351) in the fall term, and a similar course at the University of Guelph in the winter and summer terms. He also teaches “Politics and the Media” (PO465) at Laurier in the winter term. He writes a column on politics every Monday in the Waterloo Region Record in Kitchener-Waterloo and The Mercury in Guelph.

Additional Information

Mr. Stevens is the author or co-author of four books on political subjects, the most recent of which, The Player: The Life and Times of Dalton Camp, won the Writers Trust of Canada's Drainie-Taylor prize for the best biography of 2003. Two of his books were chosen by Samara Canada in July 2010 for its list of best Canadian political books. Mr. Stevens is currently working with the Honourable Flora MacDonald on her memoirs.

In June 2007, Mr. Stevens was awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters degree by Laurier for his “unique and outstanding lifelong contribution to political reporting and public discourse across Canada.” He is a director of the Canadian Journalism Foundation, chair of the CJF’s Lifetime Achievement jury and a judge of the annual National Newspaper Awards.